Reporting Fundamentals - Rhode Island New Hire Reporting Directory
Contact Us
(888) 870-6461 Ext. 200

Reporting Fundamentals

Electronic Reporting: The fastest, easiest way to report, save time, save money...report electronically! We can help you.

Multistate Reporting: Doing business with employees in more than one state? Learn about important options and how to meet your reporting requirements.

Why is new hire reporting required?
Who is required to report?
What do I have to report?
When do I have to report?
How do I report new hires?
Where do I report new hires?

Why is new hire reporting required?

In 1996, Congress enacted a law called the "Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act," or PRWORA, as part of Welfare Reform. This new legislation required that employers in all 50 states directly report their new hires and re-hires to a state directory.

New hire reporting accelerates the child support income withholding order process, expedites collection of child support from parents who frequently change jobs, and promptly locates non-custodial parents to help establish paternity and child support orders. Because of this, new hire reporting is essential to helping children receive the support they deserve. Employers serve as key partners in ensuring the financial stability of many children and families, and should take pride in their integral role.

Back to Top

Who is required to report?

Employers and/or labor organizations conducting business in the State of Rhode Island are required to report the following employees: Back to Top

What do I have to report?

Required Employee Information: Required Employer Information: Optional Employee Information: Optional Employer Information: Learn more about Multistate employers.

Back to Top

When do I have to report?

Rhode Island Law requires employers to report all new hires or rehires within 14 days of employment to the Rhode Island New Hire Registry. If you are reporting electronically or magnetically, you must report by two monthly transmissions (if necessary) not less than 12 or more than 16 days apart.

Back to Top

How do I report new hires?

The Rhode Island New Hire Reporting Directory offers many options to help make new hire reporting simple and easy for employers. The options available are listed below.

Electronic Reporting Non-Electronic Reporting Other Reporting Methods

Back to Top

Where do I report new hires?

Electronic Reports - Utilizing our Web site's online reporting feature is a very popular option for employers. This feature provides printable confirmation of reports received, and is conveniently available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Employers can send new hire data files in a variety of ways, including transferring files through the Web site or through internet connection using File Transfer Protocol (FTP). Employers can also mail reports directly to us on diskette. Learn more about electronic reporting.

Non-Electronic Reports - Paper new hire reports may either be faxed or mailed to our New Hire Reporting Directory.

Please call the Rhode Island New Hire Reporting Directory toll-free at (888) 870-6461 Ext. 200 for any questions regarding the new hire reporting process. Our telephone system can help you 24 hours a day, seven days a week and help desk staff are available to answer your questions Monday through Friday from 8:00am to 5:00pm Rhode Island Time.

Back to Top



PO Box 335 Holbrook, MA 02343 | Phone (888) 870-6461 | Fax (888) 430-6907
© 2009-2019 Rhode Island New Hire Reporting Directory. Site design by Stellarware